Flickr will hold off on deleting photos until March 12th

0
11

If you’ve got a Flickr account, hopefully you’re already aware: the free 1 terabyte plan is going away. If you’re on a free Flickr account, the company is only going to let you keep 1,000 photos at a time. Anything past that will be auto deleted, starting with the oldest stuff.

The deadline for saving all your old photos was supposed to be yesterday. But due to a bunch of issues experienced by folks at the last minute, they’re pushing it back a bit.

In a statement, a rep from Flickr tells us:

Based on feedback from our members and complications some members experienced when downloading photos yesterday, we’ve extended our deletion eligibility deadline until March 12, 2019.

That gives you a little over a month to get around to downloading — but if yesterday’s issues were any indication, you might not want to wait until the last minute. Need help getting it done? Here’s how to do it.

(Disclosure: Flickr used to be owned by Oath, which owns TechCrunch. Flickr was acquired by SmugMug in April of last year.)

Written by Greg Kumparak
This news first appeared on https://techcrunch.com/2019/02/06/flickr-will-hold-off-on-deleting-photos-until-march-12th/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+Techcrunch+%28TechCrunch%29 under the title “Flickr will hold off on deleting photos until March 12th”. Bolchha Nepal is not responsible or affiliated towards the opinion expressed in this news article.