Gurung, Shrestha set new marks


Lalitpur, September 11

Tenzing Namdol Ryan Gurung and Shuvam Shrestha broke national records on the second day of the ninth NSA Swimming Championship here at the International Sports Complex pool today.

Ryan Gurung shattered Sirish Gurung’s record of 2:34.17 in men’s 200m backstroke after he completed the distance in two minutes and 30.22 seconds.

Nasir Hussain came second in 2.34.44, while Dilip Thapa Magar was third in 2.59.72. Ryan Gurung had set new mark in 100m backstroke event yesterday.

Shuvam Shrestha broke 50m breaststroke record. He swam in 31.75 seconds to improve on his own previous mark of 32.19. Dipanker Awale was second in 33.53 seconds, whereas Bikash Kumal came third with the timing of 34.84 seconds.

Ryan Gurung bagged his second gold of the in 50m backstroke when he completed the distance in 31.76 seconds, finishing ahead of Dilip Thapa Magar (34.25) and Jayant Prakash Gurung (34.34). Also, Nasir Hussain won the 200m butterfly event gold with the timing of 2.32.21, while Anubhav Subba came second in 2.32.37 and Ervin Shrestha was third in 3.07.72.

In women’s 50m breaststroke, Upaasthi Maharjan won gold in 37.43 seconds, finishing ahead of Adipsa Vaidya (37.66) and Shrebi Maharjan (44.07). Likewise, Isabella Murphy won the 50m backstroke gold in 35.54 seconds, while Anushka Pokhrel was second in 38.16 and Samera Shova Thapa came third in 38.25 seconds. Pokhrel bagged 200m backstroke event gold medal with the timing of 2.57.63, finishing ahead of Sikchya Shrestha (3.02.60) and Diya Sthapit (3.07.72).

The post Gurung, Shrestha set new marks appeared first on The Himalayan Times.

Written by Nishant Pokhrel
This news first appeared on under the title “Gurung, Shrestha set new marks”. Bolchha Nepal is not responsible or affiliated towards the opinion expressed in this news article.