Nagarkoti, Magar claim archery titles


National Indoor ArcheryTournament

Winners of the Laxman Kumar Shrestha Memorial fifth National Indoor ArcheryTournament pose for a group photo in Kathmandu on Tuesday. Photo: THT

Kathmandu, July 3

Roshan Nagarkoti and Keshari Ale Magar won the titles of the Laxman Kumar Shrestha Memorial fifth National Indoor Archery Tournament here today.

Tribhuvan Army Club archer Nagarkoti defeated Laxman Pun of Traditional Archery Club 6-4 in the men’s Individual Recurve, while Ale Magar of Kaski Archery Club beat TAC’s Aaisha Tamang in tie breaker after they were tied at 5-5 in regulation period in women’s section final. Prem BK and Gyanu Awale, both from TAC, finished third.

In men’s Individual Standard, TAC’s Tabin Gurung thrashed Prem Kumar Bhattachan of Traditional 7-3, while Nabin Bir Basnet of West Archery finished third. In women’s section, Annapurna Archery Club trio Archana Thapa Magar, Selina Gurung and Sarmila Gurung claimed top three sports respectively.

In men’s Individual Compound event, Prajeet Agrawal of West beat Sanatan Malla of Rajdhani 137-131 to win the title, while Ramesh Bhattachan of Swoyambhu came third. Likewise, West, Annapurna and TAC claimed top three positions respectively in men’s Standard Team event, while TAC, Traditional and Kaski won gold, silver and bronze in men’s Recurve Team event.

A total of 55 players competed in the two-day event organised by Nepal Archery Association in memory of its president Laxman Kumar Shrestha. President of Nepal Archery Association Jeevan Ram Shrestha, NAA President Deepak Kumar Gurung and General Secretary Ramesh Shiwakoti among others handed over prizes to the winners of the game that featured seven events.

Written by Sandeep
This news first appeared on under the title “Nagarkoti, Magar claim archery titles”. Bolchha Nepal is not responsible or affiliated towards the opinion expressed in this news article.