Regmi, Sheikh bowl Province2 to victory


PM Cup One Day Cricket Tournament

Kathmandu, May 29

Sanjam Regmi and Samsad Sheikh shared nine wickets between them as Province2 defeated Province4 by 67 runs in the low-scoring match of the Prime Minister Cup One Day Cricket Tournament here at the Mulpani grounds today.

Batting first, Province2 were all out for 158 runs in 44.3 overs before Province4 were packed for a paltry 91 runs in 28.5 overs, thanks to Regmi’s five-wicket haul and Sheikh’s four-wicket blitz.

Bishal Shusling top scored for Province2 with 26 runs, while Rashid Khan scored 18. Mehboob Alam and Rahul Pratap Singh scored 17 each. Harishankar Shah (12) and Kundan Singh (10) were the other batsmen who scored in double figures.

For Province4, Bipin Khatri (3-17) and Hari Chauhan (3-24) shared six wickets between them, while Amrit Gurung, Govinda Pradhan and Raju Gurung took one wicket each.

In reply, Province4 batsmen faltered except for Anil Gurung and Suma Ghimire. Gurung struck three fours in his 69-ball 36, while Ghimire scored 36-ball 32 hitting four fours.

Chandra BC of Province6  bowling against Province3 during their PM Cup One Day Cricket Tournament match at the TU Stadium on Tuesday. Photo: Udipt Singh Chhetry/ THT

Man-of-the-match Regmi was the pick of the Province2 bowlers taking 5-16 from 10 overs, while Sheikh claimed 4-20 from 7.5 overs. Mehboob Alam pocketed one wicket.

In another match at the TU Stadium, Province3 defeated Province6 by three wickets. Batting first, Province6 were bowled out for 178 runs in 47.4 overs before Province3 reached 182-7 with more than 13 overs to spare.

Rabindra Jung Shahi and Diwan Pun scored half centuries for Province6, while Tek Salami and Vijaya Bista were the other two batsmen who contributed in double figures. Skipper Shahi struck five boundaries in his 79-ball 52, while Pun scored 64-ball 52 that included three fours.

For Province6, Kishore Mahato and Jitendra Singh Thakuri took two wickets each, while Kumar Shrivastav, Sagar Dhakal and Aadil Khan claimed one wicket each.

In reply, Province3 reached the target in 36.3 overs. They were reduced to 10-3 in three overs before Aadil Khan and Sanjay Basnet consolidated the innings with a 64-run stand for the fourth wicket. Khan scored 31 off 46 balls hitting four boundaries, while Basnet scored 37-ball 20 that included two fours and a six.

Province3 came under pressure after losing three more wickets for 10 runs to be 84-6 but Ishan Pandey and Rupesh Kumar Shrivastav shared a 42-run partnership for the seventh wicket to revive the innings. Pandey scored 23 off 28 balls that included four boundaries.

Rupesh Kumar Shrivastav and Kishore Mahato then took the team home without further loss after they added 56 runs for the unbroken eighth wicket. Shrivastav remained unbeaten on 39 off 63 balls that included six boundaries, while Mahato hit three fours and a six in hi s28-ball 25 not out.

Chandra BC took 6-41 from 10 overs earning the man-of-the-match award but that was not enough for Province6 to avert the defeat. Tek Salami pocketed one wicket. 

The post Regmi, Sheikh bowl Province2 to victory appeared first on The Himalayan Times.

Written by Sandeep
This news first appeared on under the title “Regmi, Sheikh bowl Province2 to victory”. Bolchha Nepal is not responsible or affiliated towards the opinion expressed in this news article.