Three Star beat MMC, again

- Advertisement -

Ruslan Three Star Club players and officials celebrate after winning the fifth Rumpum Udaypur Gold Cup Football Tournament at the Tharuhat Stadium in Gaighat on Saturday, May 19, 2018. Photo: THT

Gaighat, May 19

Ruslan Three Star Club defeated Laxmi Hyundai Manang Marshyangdi Club 1-0 in the final of the fifth Rumpum Udaypur Gold Cup Football Tournament here at the Tharuhat Stadium today.

Ajayi Martins scored the solitary goal of the match and that was enough for Three Star to beat MMC in the final match. The win was Three Star’s seventh consecutive against the ‘A’ Division rivals. Martins scored the winning goal in the 18th minute as Three Star won the third title of the tournament. Three Star had also won the first and third editions.

Both teams were reduced to 10 men as Three Star’s Martins and MMC’s Bimal Basnet were expelled by the referee in the 70th minute. The pitch turned into battlefield after Martins punched Bimal Basnet, who used foul language to referee Nabin Maharjan for not punishing the Three Star player. Referee Maharjan then gave marching orders to both Martins and Basnet.

With the victory, Three Star earned Rs 500,000 and runners-up MMC got Rs 300,000. Three Star’s Peter Segun was named the player-of-the-match and he received Rs 50,000. Similarly, Three Star clean swept the individual awards. Ramesh KC and Bijay Dhimal were named the best midfielder and defender respectively, while Martins was the highest scorer and Alan Neupane was the best goalkeeper. Meghraj KC was named the best coach. Udaypur’s Prajwal Chaudhary was adjudged the rising player.

All the individual award winners got Rs 10,000 each.

The post Three Star beat MMC, again appeared first on The Himalayan Times.

Written by Nikki Hamal
This news first appeared on under the title “Three Star beat MMC, again”. Bolchha Nepal is not responsible or affiliated towards the opinion expressed in this news article.