NA nomination finalizes EC nominations

- Advertisement -

The National Assembly election candidates registration of nomination papers has been successfully filed up on Wednesday with 83 candidates receiving EC nominations. According to the Commission, 26 females, 14 candidates from marginalized communities, 15 from minority and disabled group, and 28 others have filed their nominations.

The EC had signed the High Courts at Biratnagar, Janakpur, Lalitpur, Pokhara, Dang, Surkhet and Doti as the offices for the registration of nomination papers by these candidates.

As per the constitution, 56 members at the rate of eight members per province, including three women, one dalit and one member from the backward area or minority community, would be elected to the 59-member National Assembly while the President will nominate three members at the recommendation of the government.

There are 2,056 voters including the chiefs and deputy chiefs of the rural municipalities, the mayors and deputy mayors of municipalities, and the members of the State Assemblies in the National Assembly election.

The Election Commission will allocate the election symbols to the candidates filing their nomination papers today on January 29 after scrutinizing their candidacies.

As many as 21 political parties are in the fray for the election to the National Assembly that is taking place on February 7.

The following is the list of nominations from the three major parties, CPN-UML, CPN Maoist Centre and Nepali Congress: