Oli as 41st PM of Nepal

- Advertisement -

With the candidate nomination from CPN-UML, KP Sharma Oli leading politician has sworn in as the 41st Prime Minister of Nepal today. Newly swore PM is in his second term as Prime Leader of Nepal.

He took an oath as newly-elected Prime Minister amid a function organized at President’s Office, Shital Niwas, in Maharajgunj, under the administration of President Bidya Devi Bhandari.

Oli was appointed to the top executive post in accordance with Article 76 (2) of the Constitution of Nepal. Oli is the 38th politician to head the government in modern Nepal.

Similarly, the newly-elected Prime Minister has formed a three-member Cabinet incorporating ministers Lal Babu Pandit and Tham Maya Thapa, both of CPN-UML. Thapa has been appointed as Minister for Women and Children whereas Pandit has been appointed as Minister for Population and Environment.

President Bhandari has also administered the oath of office and secrecy to both Pandit and Thapa.

To pave the way for Oli to lead the nation as Prime Minister, a meeting of the UML held in Singhadarbar this afternoon had unanimously appointed him as the Parliamentary Party (PP) leader.

Vice President Nanda Bahadur Pun, ministers including Sher Bahadur Deuba, Madhav Kumar Nepal, Jhalanath Khanal, Subhash Nembang, Pushpa Kamal Dahal, Onsari Gharti Magar, Kamal Thapa, ambassadors and other high level officials were present in the swearing-in ceremony.

President Bhandari appointed KP Sharma Oli to the post this afternoon. CPN-UML Standing Committee, with support from the CPN Maoist Centre, had put forth his name for the top executive position of the country on Wednesday. He is CPN-UML’s fourth leader to take the high office of Prime Minister since 1995.

Comments are closed.