APF hammer TAC, win PM Cup crown

- Advertisement -

PM Cup, Nepal APF Club,

APF team members celebrate after winning the PM Cup One Day Cricket Tournament at the TU Stadium on Monday. Photo: Udipt Singh Chhetry/ THT

Kathmandu, June 11

Nepal APF Club defeated Tribhuvan Army Club by six wickets in the final of the Prime Minister Cup One Day Cricket Tournament here at the TU Stadium today.

Batting first, TAC were bowled out for 209 runs in their allotted 50 overs before APF raced to 210-4 with 52 balls to spare, thanks to half centuries from Anil Kumar Sah and Pradeep Singh Airee.

Electing to take the first strike, TAC came under early pressure as opener Sagar Pun was trapped leg before by Karan KC with just 21 runs in the board. And they were soon reduced to 56-4 after Anil Kumar Mandal (19), Naresh Budayair (20) and Raju Rijal (six) were dismissed cheaply.

Bhim Sharki and Rajesh Pulami Magar added 68 runs for the fifth wicket to revive the innings but the TAC received twin jolt when both the set batsmen were dismissed in the space of six runs. Sharki struck two each fours and sixes in his 48-ball 45, while Magar scored 27.

Sompal Kami and skipper Binod Bhandari tried to revive the innings and did add 67 runs for the seventh wicket but it was too late for them to post a challenging total on the board. Kami scored a quick fire 36 off 33 balls hitting a four and two sixes, while Bhandari struck four boundaries and a six in his 25-ball 35.

Karan KC was the pick of the APF bowlers taking 3-38, while Bhuvan Karki (2-24) and skipper Basant Regmi (2-65) shared four wickets between them. Pawan Sarraf and Amar Singh Routela bagged one wicket each.

In reply, Anil Kumar Sah and Pradeep Singh Airee laid the foundation for easy victory adding 119 runs for the first wicket after opener Subash Khakurel retired hurt in the fourth over with 19 runs on the board. Man-of-the-match Sah scored 63 off 72 balls hitting four boundaries and three sixes, while Airee struck two each fours and sixes in his 99-ball 63.

Prithu Baskota scored a quick fire 32 off 24 balls that included six fours, while Rohit Kumar Paudel (15) chipped in valuable runs. Karan KC finished off the match with a six and single off Sompal Kami in the first two balls of the 42nd over and he remained unbeaten on 15 off 25 balls hitting two fours. Khakurel came to bat after the fall of fourth wicket and he added two runs to his previous scored to return with 14 not out. For TAC, Kami took 3-67, while Bikram Sob claimed one wicket.

Champions APF earned two million rupees, while TAC got one million rupees. TAC’s Sagar Pun — who scored 211 runs and took 11 wickets — was adjudged the player of the series and he received Rs 100,000. Sushan Bhari, also from TAC, was named the best bowler, while Pradeep Airee of APF was declared the best batsman. They got Rs 30,000 each. Hari Chauhan of Province5 was named the emerging player and he earned Rs 50,000.

A total of 10 teams took part in the tournament organised by National Sports Council under the aegis of Nepalaya International. Youth and Sports Minister Jagat Bahadur Sunar, NSC Vice-president Lama Tendi Sherpa and NSC Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista among others handed over the prizes to the winners.

Written by Sandeep
This news first appeared on https://thehimalayantimes.com/sports/apf-hammer-tac-win-pm-cup-crown/ under the title “APF hammer TAC, win PM Cup crown”. Bolchha Nepal is not responsible or affiliated towards the opinion expressed in this news article.