Dahal, Maharjan win badminton titles


Nationwide Basketball Open

Prince Dahal of Silk Group receiving the trophy from NBA President Ramji Bahadur Shrestha (right) after winning the U-17 boys’ singles title of the 15th Krishna Mohan Memorial Nationwide Open in Kathmandu on Thursday.

Kathmandu, March 28

Prince Dahal and Rasila Maharjan win the Under-17 section titles of the 15th Krishna Mohan Memorial Nationwide Open Badminton Tournament here at the Nepal APF Club covered hall today.

Silk Group’s Dahal defeated Pemba Sherpa of Nepal APF Club 21-4, 21-8, while Priyanshu Singh Chhetry and Diwas Shankar finished joint third. In girls’ section final, Tribhuvan Army Club shuttler Maharjan beat Sima Rajbanshi of Morang 21-14, 21-15. TAC’s Ranjana Bhatta and Morang’s Nita Lamsal finished joint third.

Nepal APF Club’s Dipesh Dhami and Pooja Shrestha won the mixed doubles title.

The defending champions defeated fellow APF shuttlers Bijit Thapa Magar and Shova Gauchan 21-10, 21-12 in the final. Dhami teamed up with Bijit Thapa Magar to make it to the men’s doubles final and they will face TAC duo Praful Maharjan and Suroj Maharjan.

Dhami and Dahal also made it to the men’s singles final. Dhami defeated Praful Maharjan of TAC 21-12, 21- 15, while Dahal beat Nepal Police Club’s Jeevan Acharya 21-19, 21-11 in the semi-finals.

In women’s singles semi-final matches, APF’s Jessica Gurung beat Amita Giri 21-13, 21-11, and TAC’s Rasila Maharjan defeated her TAC teammate Anu Maya Rai 21-15, 21-12.

Meanwhile, Prem Kumar Shrestha and Chet Singh Thapa finished first in above-35 veteran doubles section with a 21-8, 21-12 victory over fellow APF shuttlers Raju Gautam and Lok Bahadur Thapa. Shyam Parajuli and Nabin Babu Shrestha of Zest Badminton Academy bagged the above-45 section title, while Pushpa Raj Tamrakar and Raju Bhuju of Galaxy Badminton Club won the above-55 veteran doubles trophy.

Likewise, Nick Rastrup and Ivanhoe Lissavevitch advanced to the men’s singles final of the 11th Sahabir Memorial Open Lawn Tennis Tournament. Rastrup defeated Jitendra Pariyar 6-2, 6-1, while Lissavevitch beat Pranav Khanal 6-1, 6-2 in the semi-final matches.

Chandra Sai won the above-45 veteran singles title with a 5-7, 7-6, 10-8 victory over Bimal Gurung, while Scissor Gurung beat Chandra Thapa 1-6, 6-3, 10-6 in the final of the inter-governmental service category.

Also, Nepal APF Club and Hongwanji New Diamond Academy advanced to the final of the APF IG sixth National Open Women’s Volleyball Tournament. APF defeated Nepal Police Club 25- 23, 25-17, 18-25, 25-21, while New Diamong beat Tribhuvan Army Club 25-23, 23-25, 25-21, 25-20 in the semi-final matches.

The post Dahal, Maharjan win badminton titles appeared first on The Himalayan Times.

Written by Sandeep
This news first appeared on https://thehimalayantimes.com/sports/dahal-maharjan-win-badminton-titles/ under the title “Dahal, Maharjan win badminton titles”. Bolchha Nepal is not responsible or affiliated towards the opinion expressed in this news article.