Kings to face Stars in DPL opener

- Advertisement -

Dhangadhi, February 2

Biratnagar Kings will face Dhangadhi Stars in the opening match of the Ruslan Dhhangadhi Premier League on February 9 at the proposed Fapla International Stadium.

Karan KC is the strategic player of the Kings, who replaced national team skipper Paras Khadka after he pulled out of the tournament, while Sompal Kami will lead the local side.

A total of six franchise-based teams —Biratnagar Kings, CYC Attariya, Dhangadhi Stars, Kathmandu Goldens, Mahendranagar United and Rupandehi Challengers — will take part in the premier Twenty20 cricket tournament organised annually by Dhangadhi Cricket Academy. Dhangadhi Stars changed their name from Team Dhangadhi Chauraha.

Along with Khadka, four other big names — Sandeep Lamichhane, Sagar Pun, Subash Khakurel and Naresh Budayair — will not be playing in this year’s DPL. Lamichhane is busy in international events, while Pun is yet to gain full fitness after having an ankle surgery. Khakurel and Budayair did not register their names for auction.

After the round robin league matches, top four teams will make it to the playoff. Top two sides will play in the Qualifier1 and the winners will advance to the final directly, while the next two teams will fight in Eliminator. The winners of the Eliminator will play against the losing team of Qualifier1 for a place in the final. The final is slated for February 23.

The teams have brought in international players apart from buying 12 cricketers through auction held in Kathmandu on January 6, while the organisers Dhangadhi Cricket Academy has announced South African legend Jonty Rhodes as the goodwill ambassador of the tournament.

The post Kings to face Stars in DPL opener appeared first on The Himalayan Times.

Written by Nikki Hamal
This news first appeared on under the title “Kings to face Stars in DPL opener”. Bolchha Nepal is not responsible or affiliated towards the opinion expressed in this news article.