Maharjan makes it to three finals


Rashila Maharjan of TAC returns to Jessica Gurung of APF during their women’s singles semi-final match of the Yonex Sunrise eighth Pushpalal Memorial National Open Badminton Tournament in Kathmandu on Friday, November 16, 2018. Photo: THT

Kathmandu, November 16

Tribhuvan Army Club shuttler Rashila Maharjan advanced to the women’s singles, doubles and U-17 girls’ finals of the Yonex Sunrise eighth Pushpalal Memorial National Open Badminton Tournament here at the NSC covered hall today.

Maharjan stunned defending champion Jessica Gurung of Nepal APF Club 21-13, 21-11 in the women’s singles semi-finals to set the championship date with fellow TAC teammate Nangsal Tamang, who registered a 21-12, 21-8 victory over Shova Gauchan of APF.

Maharjan teamed up with Tamang to record a 21-11, 21-11 victory over Sita Rai of Zest Badminton Academy and Samjhana Sharma of Banke in the women’s doubles semi-finals. They will face APF pair Puja Shrestha and Jessica Gurung, who earned a 21-14, 17-21, 21-13 win over TAC duo Amita Giri and Anu Maya Rai.

Likewise, Maharjan advanced to the U-17 girls’ singles final following her 21-9, 21-6 victory over Rose Pandey of Morang. Maharjan will face her TAC teammate Ranjana Bhatta, who defeated another shuttler from Morang Sima Rajbanshi 21-6, 21-15.

In U-17 boys’ section, Prince Dahal of Silk Group entered final with a 21-12, 21-9 victory over Priyansu Singh Chhetri of Zest, while TAC shuttler Diwas Shankar defeated Zest’s Pemba Sherpa 21-14, 15-21, 21-12 in another semi-final match.

In men’s singles section, Ratnajit Tamang of TAC and Dipesh Dhami of APF advanced to the final. Tamang defeated his teammate Rukesh Maharjan 21-11, 21-14, while Dhami beat TAC’s Nabin Shrestha 21-17, 21-16. In men’s doubles, Ratnajit Tamang teamed up with Nabin Shrestha to beat fellow TAC pair Rukesh Maharjan and Praful Maharjan 21-15, 21-19 and they will face APF duo Dipesh Dhami and Bijit Thapa Magar. The APF pair registered a 21-17, 19-21, 21-18 victory over their teammates Gautam Kathayat and Sunil Joshi.

Also, the TAC pair of Subhash Shrestha and Bhumi Gurung advanced to the Masters above-45 section final along with Zest’s Shyam Parajuli and Nabin Babu Shrestha. All the finals of the tournament, organised by National Badminton Association under Nepal Confederation of Sports, are slated for Saturday.

The post Maharjan makes it to three finals appeared first on The Himalayan Times.

Written by Nikki Hamal
This news first appeared on under the title “Maharjan makes it to three finals”. Bolchha Nepal is not responsible or affiliated towards the opinion expressed in this news article.