NA election concludes, ballot enumeration starts

A voter prepares to cast ballot on the premises of Public Service Commission regional Directorate in Pokhara, Province 4, on Wednesday, February 7, 2018. The National Assembly election is taking place in six provinces in the country. Photo: RSS
- Advertisement -

The National Assembly election has concluded peacefully in all six provinces across the country for 32 National Assembly members has been over at all six voting centers of six provinces, said the Election Commission.

The Election Commission says the voting was held peacefully in Biratnagar of Province 1, Patan of Province 3, Pokhara of Province 4, Dang of Province 5, Surkhet of Province 6 and Doti of Province 7 from 10 am to 3 pm today.

As per the latest update provided by the Chief Returning Officers of the respective provinces, around 99 per cent votes have been cast till 2:00 pm. The election that started at 10:00 am today witnessed an active participation of voters.

“Till now, only 14 voters are yet to cast vote. Of the 1,677 voters, 1,663 have already cast their votes,” said the EC.

Of the total 56 members to be elected, 24 have already been unanimously elected. As many as 52 candidates are vying for the remaining 32 seats.

As per the constitutional provision, eight members will be elected from each province.

Voters standing in a queue to cast ballot in the NA election of Province 3, in Jawalakhel, Lalitpur, on Wednesday, February 7, 2018. Photo: RSS