Sankata finish second; MMC extend winning run


Martyrs Memorial A Division League

Players and officials of CMG Club Sankata celebrate after beating Ruslan Three Star Club in the Pulsar Martyrs Memorial A Division League match at the ANFA Complex grounds in Lalitpur on Wednesday.  Photo: Udipt Singh Chhetry / THT

Kathmandu, January 2

CMG Club Sankata finished as runners-up of Pulsar Martyrs Memorial A Division League, while champions Signature Manang Marshyangdi Club extended the unbeaten streak to 12 matches here today.

Sankata came from a goal down to defeat Ruslan Three Star Club at ANFA Complex grounds, whereas MMC beat Himalayan Sherpa Club at APF grounds by identical scores of 2-1.

With their ninth victory, Sankata accumulated 28 points from 12 matches, while third-placed Three Star, who faced their third defeat, have 23 points.

Amit Tamang scored from the spot on either half to ensure Sankata’s win. Ranjan Bista put Three Star ahead in the 30th minute when Sankata goalkeeper his Rajababu Thapa failed to stop a weak-looking shot from the area.

Tamang levelled the scores in the 43rd minute. Sunil Bal fouled Saujan Rai inside the box and Tamang converted the resulting penalty.  Rai earned another spot kick for Sankata in the 77th minute when Peter Segun was adjudged to have fouled him. Tamang scored from the spot for the second time to net the winning goal.

Elsewhere, MMC, who had already won the record eighth league title with two matches remaining, inched closer to create history with a victory over Sherpa in the penultimate round. Olawale Afeez and Bishal Rai scored one goal each for MMC, while Bishwas Shrestha replied for Sherpa.

MMC will play against NIBL Friends Club in the final round. Nepal Police Club hold the record of winning the league with an unbeaten run but MMC have an opportunity of creating new chapter of history, claiming the league title with 100 per cent win record.

On Wednesday, MMC took lead through Afeez’s goal in the 36th minute before Shrestha levelled the scores moments before the break. Rai restored MMC’s lead in the 63rd minute, which turned out to be the winning goal.

Both the teams were reduced to 10 men after MMC’s Mohammad Aarif and Sherpa’s Bishwas Shrestha got marching orders for their unsporting behaviour.

With the win, MMC accumulated 36 points, while Sherpa are at the seventh position with 17 points.

The post Sankata finish second; MMC extend winning run appeared first on The Himalayan Times.

Written by Sandeep
This news first appeared on under the title “Sankata finish second; MMC extend winning run”. Bolchha Nepal is not responsible or affiliated towards the opinion expressed in this news article.