Sherpa clinches Surya Nepal Monthly Medal

- Advertisement -

(From left) Arnav Shah, Tendi Sherpa, Tashi Ghale, Dr Bhagwan Koirala and Tashi Tshiring hold their trophies after the Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly at the Gokarna Golf Club in Kathmandu on Saturday, June 16, 2018. Photo: THT

Kathmandu, June 16

Tendi Sherpa won the fourth edition title of the Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

Played under stroke play full handicap format, the 12-handicap amateur golfer Sherpa played a round of four-under 68 to claim the nett section trophy. Dr Bhagwan Koirala finished second on count back after he was tied on two-under 70 with Tashi Ghale, who came third.

Ghale lost for the second time on count back when Tashi Tshiring beat him to win the gross section title after both of them played one-under 71. Tshiring played one-under 35 on the back nine, while Ghale came up with even-par 36. The junior section winner was also decided on count back with Arnav Shah claiming the trophy after being tied on one-over 73 with Sam Doublard.

In all, 43 golfers took part in the event sponsored by Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd. Captain of Gokarna Golf Club Joseph Nathan handed over the prizes to the winners.

After four monthly medal rounds, Surendra Phuyal is at the top of the leaderboard in the nett section with 180 points. Jigmay Dongstetsang is second with 125, while Prabhakar Adhikari, Tendi Sherpa and Prithvi Malla are joint third with 100 points.

In gross section, Tashi Tshiring moved to the top with 240 points, while Surendra Phuyal is second with 230, followed by Wangchen Dhondup (135), Tashi Dong (125) and Prithvi Malla (100). Likewise, Ang Phurba Sherpa is the junior section leader with 280 points, while Sam Doublard is second with 250 and Arnav Shah (175) third.

Written by Nikki Hamal
This news first appeared on under the title “Sherpa clinches Surya Nepal Monthly Medal”. Bolchha Nepal is not responsible or affiliated towards the opinion expressed in this news article.