Phil Mickelson brain fade could have led to disqualification at Open

0
43

• Mickelson rehit his own putt as it was moving at US Open
• American received two-shot penalty at the time

The R&A’s chief executive, Martin Slumbers, has implied that Phil Mickelson’s brain fade at the US Open – where he rushed after his overhit ball on the 13th green which was running into further trouble and hit it back towards the pin – would have led to him being disqualified at the Open rather than picking up the two-shot penalty he incurred at the time.

Slumbers said he had spoken to the left-hander at the Scottish Open last week and the American had admitted that Shinnecock Hills was not his “finest hour”, but on the day the USGA meted out its penalty under Rule 14-5, which does not have a disqualify option.

Continue reading…

Written by Mark Tallentire at Carnoustie
This news first appeared on https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2018/jul/18/phil-mickelson-brain-fade-disqualification-open-us-open under the title “Phil Mickelson brain fade could have led to disqualification at Open”. Bolchha Nepal is not responsible or affiliated towards the opinion expressed in this news article.